Signup for Nathan's News Signup for Nathan's News




Chair Nathan Fletcher, and his colleagues on the San Diego County Board of Supervisors, today passed Vice Chair Nora Vargas’ policy to allocate $1.5 million in County resources to support Youth Opportunity Pass Pilot Program. After the vote, Chair Fletcher issued the following statement: 

“Helping young people get to school, their part-time jobs and extracurricular activities at no-cost provides some financial relief to families, and will also inspire a new generation of transit riders,” said Board of Supervisors Chair Fletcher, who has championed the passes since becoming Chair of the MTS in 2019. “Supporting the Youth Opportunity Pass Pilot Program is the right thing for our County to do, and I truly appreciate Vice Chair Vargas’ leadership in bringing this policy forward for a vote.”  

Youth 18 years and young are eligible for the no-cost passes, learn more about eligibility requirements here.

The funds used to support this program comes from American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) funds the Board of Supervisors previously designated to support vulnerable communities impacted by COVID-19. The funds will be given to the San Diego Association of Governments (SANDAG) who is administering the program on behalf of MTS.     

Read the entire Board Letter here