Signup for Nathan's News Signup for Nathan's News

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the geographic boundaries of San Diego County?
San Diego County is about the size of the State of Connecticut.  It’s 4,261 square miles, extending 70 miles along the Pacific Coast from Mexico to Orange County and inland 75 miles to Imperial County along the international border shared with Mexico. Riverside and Orange counties form the northern border. It is the most southwestern county in the contiguous 48 States.


What is San Diego County’s population?
The County's population estimate was 3.34 million according to the State of California Department of Finance as of May 2018. San Diego County is the second largest county by population in California and the fifth largest county by population in the nation, as measured by the U.S. Census Bureau based on 2017 population estimates.


What services does the County of San Diego provide?
There are 18 incorporated cities in San Diego County and a vast number of unincorporated communities. The County provides a full range of public services to its residents, including health and human services,  emergency response services, parks and recreation, libraries and roads, law enforcement, detention and correction, The County also serves as a delivery channel for many State services, such as foster care, public health care and elections. County services are provided by four business Groups (Public Safety, Health and Human Services, Land Use and Environment, and Finance and General Government), each headed by a General Manager who reports to the Chief Administrative Officer (CAO). Within the Groups, there are four departments that are headed by elected officials: the District Attorney and the Sheriff in the Public Safety Group, and the Assessor/Recorder/County Clerk and the Treasurer-Tax Collector in the Finance and General Government Group.

How large is the County of San Diego Budget?
The 2019-2020 adopted budget is $6.25 billion. To learn more about the budget visit here.   

What are the responsibilities of a County Supervisor?
The Board of Supervisors sets priorities and approves the County’s two-year budget. The County may exercise its powers only through the Board of Supervisors or through agents and officers acting under authority of the Board or authority conferred by law. The Board of Supervisors appoints the following officers: the Chief Administrative Officer (CAO), the County Counsel, the Probation Officer and the Clerk of the Board of Supervisors. All other non-elected officers are appointed by the CAO.

What District does Chair Nathan Fletcher represent?
The Fourth Supervisorial District, the most ethnically diverse district in San Diego County.

What are the boundaries of the 4th District of San Diego County?
The Fourth Supervisorial District spans about 100 square miles, extending north to UC San Diego, west to the Pacific Ocean, east to Encanto and south to Paradise Hills. Click here to review a map that shows Team Fletcher’s activity in the Fourth District.


How many people live in the Fourth Supervisorial District?
Approximately 640,000 people reside in the district, the most ethnically diverse district in San Diego County.

What communities does Chair Nathan Fletcher represent?

Adams North, Alta Vista, Azalea Park, Balboa Park, Bankers Hill, Bay Ho, Bay Park, Birdland, Bird Rock, Broadway Heights, Castle, Cherokee Point, Chollas Creek, City Heights (where more than 30 languages are spoken), Clairemont Mesa, Colina Del Sol, Corridor, Cortez Hill, Crown Point, El Cerrito, Downtown, East Village, Emerald Hills, Encanto, Fairmount Park, Fairmount Village, Gaslamp Quarter, Golden Hill, Hillcrest, Jamacha Lomita, Kearny Mesa, Kensington, La Jolla, Linda Vista, Little Italy, Loma Portal, Marina, Middletown, Midway, Mission Beach, Mission Hills, Mission Valley, Morena, Normal Heights, North Park, North Bay Terraces, Oak Park, Ocean Beach, O’Farrell, Old Town, Pacific Beach, Park West, Redwood Village, Rolando Park, Serra Mesa, Skyline, South Park, Swan Canyon, Talmadge Park, University Heights, Valencia Park and Webster.

What are the zip codes of the Fourth Supervisorial District?
The zip codes are 92037, 92093, 92101, 92103, 92104, 92105, 92106, 92107, 92108, 92109, 92110, 92111, 92114, 92115, 92116, 92117, 92123,92140, 92161

Who should I contact if I need a street light fixed, road repaired, or other similar service?

The County of San Diego Fourth Supervisorial District is located within the City of San Diego. Many municipal services, like street improvements, trash collection and tree trimming are under the jurisdiction of the San Diego City Council. To contact the City of San Diego, click here. But, if you prefer to contact the Team Fletcher office, we are glad to help direct you to the right place. In general, the Board of Supervisors is responsible for issues that are more regional in nature, such as public health, air quality, water quality, probation and environmental health.

How do I invite Chair Nathan Fletcher to speak at my event?
Click here to invite the Chair to your event.

How do I request a certificate or proclamation?
Click here to request a certificate or proclamation

How do I contact Chair Nathan Fletcher’s office? 
Click here to contact our office.